Arizona Justice of the Peace Association

The Sherry Geisler Award

Current Board
IN the News
Justice of the Peace of the Year
Upcoming Events
Conference Information
Association Membership
Related Links
Contact us
Association Bylaws

 What's New?

Who is in the news?

The Sherry Geisler Award 2016

Justice of the Peace of the year 

Process and Application for the award

Each year a Justice of the Peace is recognized for his or her outstanding service to the Judiciary.
In 2013 the Award name was changed to the Sherry Geisler Award in honor of the late Honorable Sherry Geisler of Round Valley Justice Court.

Judge Geisler began her career as a clerk in 1982 she served  as a pro-tem and began her judicial career in 1993.  When the association split from the partnership with the constables the Az Justice of the Peace Association was born Judge Geisler was the first association president in 1996. Judge Geisler served on numerous committees for the Arizona Supreme Court including the Judicial ethics commission she served as a mentor judge for many years;  she was a true example of the qualities expected for the Justice of the Peace of the year award.

Honorable Sherry Geisler

Justice of the Peace of the year 2016
Honorable Dorothy Little presents the award to Honorable Arthur Markham

Arthur Markham is this year's recipient of the Justice of the Peace of the year. Judge Markham has served as a full time judge for approximately 14 years, for Prescott Consolidated courts which includes the Prescott Justice Court and the Prescott Magistrate Court. He is also the Yavapai Prescott Tribal Magistrate.  He has served the last 7 years as the Presiding Justice of the Peace for Yavapai County. Judge Markham is currently serving on the Executive Board for the Association and has participated for a number of years on the Legislative committee for the Association. 

Prescott Consolidated courts under Judge Markham's direction has been very innovative in furthering justice and case processing procedures. They led the way for E-citations, paperless initial appearances, piloted the pretrial release procedures in conjunction with the Arnold Foundation and the Arizona Supreme Court as well as one of the Pilot courts for the new AJACS System.

Judge Markham has served and continues to serve on many committees and forums for the Arizona Supreme Court. He has been a member of the LJC Committee for the last 7 years assuring the Justice of the Peace view point is represented for proposed rules and procedures affecting all limited jurisdiction courts. He serves on the Arizona Supreme Court Criminal Justice Commission on Criminal History regarding proper reporting for criminal convictions. He has assisted with updating the Bench books relating to the enforcement of civil judgments, served on the DUI case processing committee which helped form the case processing standards. He participated with the Supreme Court training video and broadcast as well as served on a panel for GOHS Conference regarding DUI education.

 Judge Markham often speaks to local organizations about the Court system which has included the Rotary, the Lions and the local Yavapai County Bar Association. He has served on local community boards such as the Catholic Social services the Zoo, band boosters and the Orme School.

Judge Markham is instrumental in maintaining good working relationships with the Board of supervisors, the Prescott City Council, Yavapai Tribe, Law Enforcement and probation department to assure the integrity of the Court.


Dorothy A. Little, Association President


Arizona Justice of the Peace Association

This site  The Web

Site hosting by